Grow your CSS skills. Land your dream job.

Where To Start?

• # July 15, 2008 at 6:50 pm

Out of curiosity after a psd image is created, where do you like to start? I haven’t done a ton of sites and I always find myself starting differently. Laying out containers, or buttons , nav bars, I guess I never start fresh it is always off of the last and start changing around. I do CSS sites but I often cheat and see the last layout as a good start for the next. But then I have tons of CSS that I don’t use and don’t want to get rid of because it might be holding something in place or something. Like I say I am new to the process.

How do most of you start ( those of you who don’t speak code as a second language)? Maybe a basic templet?

Here is my last finished site http://latstudio.com/

p.s. The php was a cheat to I don’t fully understand what I did, I just changed to match what I needed.

# July 16, 2008 at 3:27 pm

I think overall page structure is the best place to start. Look over your graphic mockup and look closely at how you can describe the areas as semantically as possible. Are you going to need a page wrap? Is there a header section? main navigation? main content area? sidebars? footer? Then try to write the HTML for those things first, then worry about the details.

# July 16, 2008 at 5:18 pm

Totally agree with that. See it as building a house. You start with the fundaments (for example a pagewrap) and there on you start building the elements (header, content, sidebars, footer etc.) I always start with the structure in xhtml and halfway doing that I add the css and eventually in the end the javascript.

# July 17, 2008 at 4:43 pm

I start with the absolute most basic page structure before I do anything else. I don’t do any styling at all until I have the underlying structure completely nailed down.