Grow your CSS skills. Land your dream job.

What kind of Degree did you get in Web Dev?

• # March 13, 2012 at 5:43 pm

Hey guys I’m looking of going into doing web development. I noticed the ones I looked at where Associate degrees and I wondered, what’s a good level of education for a Web Developer to get? What did you guys get? So please do share your wonderful insites because I would love to have them.

Thanks,

# March 13, 2012 at 5:53 pm

I think you’ll find a lot of people (myself included) are self taught. :)

# March 13, 2012 at 5:55 pm

+1 Self taught.

# March 13, 2012 at 6:01 pm

< Self taught as well. It's worth mentioning that I did take several few web development classes before I got serious with it. But, as many can attest, they are pretty awful.

I’m a big proponent of education as long as it makes sense. In the case of web development, I’d recommend a complimentary degree such as marketing or something like server administration type courses.

# March 13, 2012 at 6:11 pm

I’ve taught myself web development to a pretty big degree. I don’t want to waste my time and money on a degree if it’s like “this is what HTML is…” but I also don’t want to be like “don’t worry I may not have a degree but I’m really good!” So what are some good degrees to get that would supplement my knowledge or make me more valuable?

but anyway I want more people’s comments.

# March 13, 2012 at 6:32 pm

I have a bachelor’s degree in computer science, but that has nothing to do with my web development skills (self-taught as well).

I guess the value of it (in fact ANY bachelor’s degree) would be for an employer hiring you; it just says that you’re smart enough in general, so to speak.