Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Web Design Degree Useless?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 115 total)
  • Author
    Erik
    Participant

Hey, I asked Chris Coyier this on Twitter, but wanted other peoples thoughts as well.

Do you feel a associate degree in web design at a tech school now days is out of date and useless somewhat?

Basically if I’m self taught to a good degree can a person still get employment without a degree?

Thanks

shaneisme
    Participant

You can, but you have to show your work.

With a degree, especially a bachelors, you can get a decent gig without real-world experience.

It also depends on the program, at first glance a web design associates at a tech college is probably not going to be the best in the world… probably. If it is, it won’t be a waste of time, especially when you think about networking.

I’ve got about 2.5 years of a bachelors and quit, but this was back in the late 90’s. It took me a while to land a real gig and even then I was paid less. At this point in my career, unless I was going to a high level position at a place like Google, I don’t think I’ll need one.

nixnerd
    Participant

At this point in my career, unless I was going to a high level position at a place like Google, I don’t think I’ll need one.

Even then… depending on what projects you’ve contributed to… you probably still won’t need one.

However… I’d like to draw a distinction between web design and web development.

What sorts of things do you want to build? That will roughly tell us where you fall and what you should learn.

Erik
    Participant

Well, I guess I’m kind of in the “Flip-Flop” mode right now.

By this I mean I’m 29 with no degree and wanted to find a career in something fun that I would love to do. I mean if your career not fun a person will hate it.