Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Using CSS to layout a website and especially the footer

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Flippdesigns

Hi guys, hope you can help a newbie. im self taught and for my sins i have always used tables to layout (i know i know) anyhoo i have seen the light and am getting my head around HTML5 and CSS3.
    So i have inherited a client and with them comes a website that was built by a former company, which uses…you guessed it…CSS to layout.
    I understand the fundamentals of it, however when i have added more content to a particular page it has thrown the footer positioning out.
    I have been trying all sorts of fixes that i have found so please forgive my sloppy code.

the website is aegpartitions.com and the original page in question is [aegpartitions.com](http://www.aegpartitions.com/maintenance.html)
    i know it must be something to do with the wrapper class but im not sure on the difference between the .wrapper and #wrapper, and im pretty sure that there are too many div inside div.

[Codepen link](http://cdpn.io/twlBy “”)

any help would be hugely appreciated, and i can already tell im going to be on here a lot. next thing will be @font-face

Paulie_D
    Paulie_D

The issue is that most of the elements inside the wrapper are floated or positioned absolutely, which takes them out of the document flow &/or causes the wrapper to collapse.

The answer to most of this issue is to take the footer OUT of the wrapper, give it the properties

clear: both;
    width:990px /* or whatever */
    margin:0 auto;

A more involved solution would be to restructure/recode the whole thing as clearly adding content is causing some major issues.

Flippdesigns

Thanks to both ChrisP and Paulie_D (apologies for making you work twice as hard) i knew i had asked the question but couldnt find the original discussion.