Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Used Coda 2 for too long, now i'm lost on windows

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Pstrnil
    Participant

Hello,

I’ve been using macs for the past 4 years and i got into web design/programming about a year ago.
    Working on a mac i decided to try Coda 2 and it was glorious from day one.
    The program had everything i needed, good UI, smart autofill, ease of use, and the well known Emmett plugin that made everything even better.

Up until now i learned by myself from internet, but now i’m in a nice school as a web designer (great if you ask me) and we use windows pcs.

As you probably know Coda is mac only, and now i tried some alternatives, the best one being Sublime Text 2, but even that is not like Coda workflow-wise, i mainly miss the great autofill.

Now, i’m here to ask you guys some suggestions, which editor do you think comes closer to Coda? I would like to expand Sublime Text 2 but i don’t know what packages to look for.

For example i remember having HTML, CSS, JS and PHP all in one document in Coda, and the autofill worked fine. In Sublime Text 2 there is the possibility to choose the syntax you want but it only takes one language at the time as far as i know…

Thanks for the help, sorry for the long read, wasn’t expecting to write all this for such a simple question :P

nixnerd
    Participant

I don’t think too many people here work in a Windows environment. I’m really sorry more people can’t help. As for me, I’ve never even used Coda… so I don’t know how my workflow compares.

chrisburton
    Participant

Sublime has a plugin for SFTP that you can add. Anything you save gets uploaded to the server or wherever you specify. There are also auto-complete plugins, you just have to search for them.

Senff
    Participant