Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Trying a new CSS indenting scheme..

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

Previously I was an advocate of doing simple long line with no indenting in css, something like…

Code:
    blah { width:10px; }
    bla22 { width:10px; height:; border:; }

I think a fairly popular, but simple style.. Even with comments however I felt that that after the document got bigger and bigger it started being a lot more difficult to control. Im sure it also got more and more inefficiently written with repeating elements and crap.. and difficult to find specifics in the code.

I had a look around the intarwebs, and looked at some styles, and I fancied trying some kind of tree indenting style, I was a programmer many years ago so it also kind of made more sense structurally than the straight list of rules.

Code:
    /* Main Content Area */
    #hdr-content
    { background: #060d1f url(images/hdr-background.jpg) no-repeat; padding-top: 680px;
    overflow: hidden; position: relative;
    }
    /* Right Hand Content Area */
    #hdr-right
    { float: left; width: 670px; padding-left: 25px;
    }
    #hdr-right p
    { color: #fff; font-size: 0.8em;
    }

#hdr-right h2
    { margin-top: 25px;
    }

.pic1, .pic2
    { height: 209px; padding-top: 80px; margin-top: 15px; margin-bottom: 25px;
    }

.pic1
    { background: url(images/hdr-pic1.jpg) no-repeat right 0; padding-right: 480px;
    }

.pic2
    { background: url(images/hdr-pic2.jpg) no-repeat left 0; padding-left: 480px;
    }

#hdr-right blockquote
    { background: url(images/quotes.png) no-repeat 20px 10px; padding: 10px 10px 10px 90px;
    margin-bottom: 25px; display: block; color: #fff; font-size: 0.9em; font-style: italic;
    }
    #hdr-right blockquote br
    { margin-bottom: 25px; display: block;
    }

/* Left Hand Content Area */
    #hdr-left