Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Traditional vs CMS site?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    kmj2318
    Participant

Hi. I just started learning HTML and CSS about a month ago.

I’m wondering what the actual difference between hosting a website the traditional way compared to hosting one with something like WordPress. I looked at what people said on other websites (mostly business focused, not design) and most of those people say that there really is no reason not to use a CMS. However, I feel like a place like this would give me much better answers.

I learned the fundamentals of HTML and CSS and understand JavaScript, but I know nothing about WordPress. Are there scenarios where a traditional website would be better than using WordPress? And vice versa? If you have a large organization website is a traditional website better? What are some of the things WordPress simply can’t do? Etc.

Thank you :)

chrisburton
    Participant

@kmj2318 HTML is not dynamic. Therefore, if you added an additional link in your menu you would have to do this on all your pages. Not fun if you have a lot of them. Many CMS’s use PHP which allows dynamic content. So adding an additional link in your menu would update across all pages with one single change.

I worked with WordPress for a few years, only really getting deep into it for about 6-8 months. I think it’s quite heavy for a small/portfolio site, though. Not something I’d use unless building a site like CSS-Tricks. Kirby is a really great CMS to learn and I think others have mentioned Perch (I believe that’s what it’s called) as well.

Edit: To answer your question, I’d probably only use HTML & CSS for a one page site. But it depends. I like using a Panel when editing a site so a CMS would be appropriate for me.

chrisburton
    Participant