Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Time to upgrade web hosts. I need some real life input, please

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    mikelucid

I would really appreciate some input as google only provides info, but its really not useful. I want real life experiences to base my decision on, not seo and review sites. I trust this community so, seems like the pace to ask :)

I have been using Blue host for 2 years almost, and they started out great, but now their customer services is crap, and my sites all lag a majority of the time. Super frustrating. Then I call wait 20-30mins on hold to find out they don’t know what their doing and don’t have any higher up tech available. ERGGG!

Anyways time for a change… I really think I want to go VPS(probably 512mb) because I host numerous persona and client sites and want them all to be top notch. I have heard that Dreamhost is very reliable and has some great features, so i am leaning that direction.

Thanks for your input, I look forward to it :)

chrisburton
    Participant
    mikelucid

Thanks for the link. Really like the look of liquidweb, it is a bit pricey. But It would probably be worth it. Their client list is definitely something to brag about.

Anyone got any other suggestions for 20-30$ / month??

ilusk

Have you looked at Media Temple? They’re a bit pricier than some other hosts, but I’ve had good luck with them. Chris even has a coupon code in his deals section that you can use to get 20% off a number of their plans for life. They have Grid servers for $20 a month, but their dedicated servers start at $50 I believe (but it’s $40 if you use the coupon code). Again, I’ve had excellent luck with them for what I need and use (host several client’s websites and my own for that $40). Hope this helps, and good luck on your move!

realife