Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Thoughts on Adjoining / Chaining Classes

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    jonedwards
    Participant

Okay, so I’m no expert like Coyier, Cederholm or Marcotte, but I’m having a hard time coming to terms with the idea that adjoining classes is bad practice… In this post, I’ll probably end up answering my own question with a question, but the rhetoric has its place. And I’d really like you guys’ feedback, please.

Here’s an example: (ignore the odd spacing on tags)

< div class="group" >
    < article class="column one" >
    < / article >
    < article class="column two" >
    < / article >
    < article class="column three" >
    < / article >< / div >

I set a global class .column, that floats the div, like so:

.column {
    float: left;
    display: inline;
    }

I can use the .column class on paragraphs, divs, whatever…

As expected, I can target the .column by specifying a parent. But, by adjoining the classes _.column_ and _.one_, or _.column.three_, I can also target and style the first or third column differently, like so:

.parent .column {
    width: 300px;
    margin-right: 40px;
    }
    .parent .column.three {
    width: 260px;
    margin-right: 0;
    padding-left: 40px;
    }

My thinking was that by using .column.three, I save on having numerous class names to call on, e.g. _.column-01_, _.column-02_, _.column-03_ versus the adjoined classes.

Doing this will also allow me to reuse the .one, .two and .three class somewhere else, e.g. _.button.one_ or _li.one_.

Now, according to [CSS Lint](https://github.com/stubbornella/csslint/wiki/Disallow-adjoining-classes “CSS Lint on GitHub”), aren’t handled properly by IE6. And, to quote:

> Generally, it’s better to define styles based on single classes instead of based on multiple classes being present.