Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other This is an EXTREMELY subjective question :)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

I’ve come to respect this community quite a bit, so I was curious to see how anyone might answer it. I understand it’s a very subjective question that has alot of variables in it, but he is where I’m at.

I’m currently in a position where I’ve done design & web work on the side for a couple years. I haven’t quit my day job but I’m not in a position to support myself either. I have a decent stream of work coming in, but fewer big projects than I feel like it would require to support my family.

Has anyone been in this place before and stepped off into the darkness? I’m contemplating at this point that in the not-so-distant future to take what I’m doing full time because I love it so much while my day job is just a frustrating means to a paycheck.

Did anyone find that they were able to increase their business with the time freed up to work more projects? Did you find that work was much slower coming than anticipated and required getting another job, or working for a company doing design work instead of continuing to be on your own?

Obviously there are alot of variable that go into getting enough work to succeed, but I was just generally curious what experiences anyone in my position might have encountered.

Chris Coyier
    Keymaster