Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS [Solved] IE menu and horizontal scroll issue.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    cjsmusic

Hi this is the first time posting. I’m having two problems one is a problem that is global to all browsers and the other is only occurring in IE 7 and lower. You can view the site at http://www.academicmusicschool.com I am a teacher at the school and I offered to do this to gain more experience in the web world.

Anyways, the IE problem: The nested menu that I have created is hiding behind main content. In other words my submenus are essentially useless and hidden in versions of IE lower then 8. In versions lower then 7 the menu will not show at all upon hovering over the main menu. I have done an all HTML/CSS version of the menu (No Javascript). As for trouble shooting I have try z-index with no luck. I have also try pulling out my hair but that doesn’t do much either.

The second problem seems that I have horizontal scroll but there is no text to make this happen. There seems to be some blank space on the side of the screen. This problem is occuring in all browsers that I am aware of.

On top of the above I have validated the HTML to the best of my abilities.

Thanks for the help,
    Jordan

immel

Seems like the page is currently unavailable, is that just temporary?

immel

I can see the horizontal scroll bar, and I’ve located the source of part of the problem. The CSS IDs #plumbPianos and #directory have a width of 749px that push out towards the right, that’s is what gives you the scroll bar. You have to rewrite the code for how you display the links in your footer.

cjsmusic

Thanks for the thoughts. I originally thought it was fine as well and then I tried to resize to see what a smaller screen might see. Low and behold a horizontal scroll problem.