Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS [Solved] Hiding h1 in IE Using display:none or text-indent

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Ranger

Hey everyone,
    I think this should be a fairly simple issue, but I can’t seem to find a suitable answer around the ‘nets.
    so,
    I’m trying to hide the header that reads "The Ryan Gregson Web-log" that shows up in orange in IE (not the image with the same caption above)
    I can get it to disappear in firefox using the display: none, and the text-indent: -9999px, but neither work in IE. What to do?
    this is done in wordpress, btw, playing with the whiteboard theme.

here’s the site:

http://www.ryangregson.com/blog
    the site is kinda lame, I know, i’m just learning.

here’s some code where the problem should be:
    this is code from the header.php. the wrapper and container divs are closed in the footer.php.

Code:

and here’s the CSS

Code:
    #maincol { width: 460px; float: left;padding-left: 50px;padding-top: 50px;}
    body {margin: 0px auto;background: black;}
    #topthing{width: 1400px; height: 338px; background: url(/blog/wp-content/themes/whiteboard/images/myheader.jpg) black; margin: 0px auto;}
    #topthing a{
    margin: 0 auto;
    padding-top: 100px;
    display: block;
    width: 700px;
    height: 200px;
    }
    h1#logo{display: none; /*text-indent: -9999px;*/}

#container{width: 1400px;background: url(/blog/wp-content/themes/whiteboard/images/middle.jpg) repeat-y;margin: 0px auto;}
    #wrapper{width: 700px; margin: 0px auto;}

any help would be appreciated, thanks!

also I just ran the Validator, and it came up with this response which could be relevant, but honestly, this is not direct enough for me to be helpful:

Line 79, Column 3: unclosed start-tag requires SHORTTAG YES

<h1 id="logo"><a href="http://www.ryangregson.com/blog/">The Ryan Gregson Web-

?