Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Responsive Web Design AFTER Desktop Site Created?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    StephBertha
    Participant

Hi there,

I know the best way to do a responsive site is before the desktop site is created, but I wound up doing the opposite.

The site is coded with fixed values, but I just started learning Bootstrap.

My question is… is it worth it to spend the time learning more Bootstrap and recoding the site with Bootstrap or am I ok with coding the responsive CSS with fixed values?

Ilya

It depends, bootstrap is awesome once you master it, and it is easy to understand. However I don’t like using it, just too much unnecessary code (my opinion). You can get away with fixed values if you use media queries, I guess. So you can change your website slightly for common screen resolutions, like desktop, tablets and smartphones. However if you wan’t to truly master responsive design I suggest you plan out your templates with flexibility in mind, so less fixed values. Of course it is perfectly normal to use fixed values in some parts.

Without seeing your site it’s a bit difficult to comment, but I think the easiest way to do this would be keep your defined width on the main desktop site, but re-encode the inner content to be more fluid. Then you can start your first break point at your current baked in width and go from there.

Kitty Giraudel
    Participant

Always doable. But can be very complicated.

StephBertha
    Participant

Hi Ilya,
    Yeah, I understand about the code bloat. I noticed that too. I’m certainly working towards planning out my templates with flexibility in mind. Bootstrap has certainly gotten me in that mindset!

Hi will_wallace85,
    Hmm… interesting! By the way, my site is http://www.barstoolcomforts.com/

Hi JoshWhite,
    Sure, the site is http://www.barstoolcomforts.com/.