Grow your CSS skills. Land your dream job.

Question about Design view vs Code editor

• # January 25, 2013 at 4:06 pm

I’m fairly new to this industry(8 months), and I still rely on Dreamweaver ‘s design mode to select the code that I want to edit (I use the code or split view while designing)- very simple, just click on the element that needs to be worked upon and the code gets highlighted in code view.

What I’m curious about is this -

Almost every forum that I visit gives a thumbs down to Dreamweaver and a Thumbs up to code editors such as Sublime text2, even though it appears(I’m not sure) that these code editors do not have a design mode. How do coders manage to edit their code or someone else’s(if they’re unfortunate enough to complete someone’s pending work?). Often there are hundreds of lines of code.

If these editors do not have a Design mode, what advantages do they have over free text editors such as Notepad++? The design mode to edit code is the only real advantage that I’ve had, while using DW.

Am I learning html the wrong way? Am I missing something? Is there something these experts know and have implemented that I’m not aware of or not following?

# January 25, 2013 at 4:10 pm

The browser is your live mode :)

# January 25, 2013 at 4:13 pm

The best way to learn HTML/CSS/Javascript is to create small projects from scratch.

# January 25, 2013 at 7:22 pm