Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Question about Design view vs Code editor

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Krish1980
    Participant

I’m fairly new to this industry(8 months), and I still rely on Dreamweaver ‘s design mode to select the code that I want to edit (I use the code or split view while designing)- very simple, just click on the element that needs to be worked upon and the code gets highlighted in code view.

What I’m curious about is this –

Almost every forum that I visit gives a thumbs down to Dreamweaver and a Thumbs up to code editors such as Sublime text2, even though it appears(I’m not sure) that these code editors do not have a design mode. How do coders manage to edit their code or someone else’s(if they’re unfortunate enough to complete someone’s pending work?). Often there are hundreds of lines of code.

If these editors do not have a Design mode, what advantages do they have over free text editors such as Notepad++? The design mode to edit code is the only real advantage that I’ve had, while using DW.

Am I learning html the wrong way? Am I missing something? Is there something these experts know and have implemented that I’m not aware of or not following?

JoeBrooks

The browser is your live mode :)

Anonymous
    Inactive

The best way to learn HTML/CSS/Javascript is to create small projects from scratch.

rosspenman
    Participant

If you write your HTML in a way that’s easily-readable, you shouldn’t need to find where an element lies in the code – it should be easy to tell from its surroundings. Try adding comments to your HTML files describing what’s happening and then see if you can read it better.

margaux
    Participant