Grow your CSS skills. Land your dream job.

Protecting my Noncommercial Website

• # December 7, 2011 at 2:11 am

Sorry if it does not fit the theme. Is there a way to keep the copyright, if a site owner just use a free domain name (like me). Because I know that plagiarism is very rife. And I was afraid if I will fall because some works are plagiarized/recognized by the more established sites.
    Do I really need to change the domain as soon as possible? But I still don’t have a reason for it. Whether I should postpone my ideas until the right time? Or how?

# December 7, 2011 at 2:21 am

Are you asking since you have a free domain, is your work protected from copyright infringement?

# December 7, 2011 at 2:26 am

Yes. I’m just a hobbyist who likes coding. I’m very worried if my works (such as CSS experiment) plagiarized by others. My friends told me to be careful in publishing my work.

# December 7, 2011 at 2:49 am

You can’t copyright CSS and having a domain has nothing to do with that.

# December 7, 2011 at 2:51 am

So, what would happen to me if plagiarism occurred?

# December 7, 2011 at 3:13 am

How can someone plagiarize CSS? Nor you or I own CSS therefore it is not subject to copyright infringement. However, your images are.

# December 7, 2011 at 3:40 am

As Christopher says, you can’t copyright CSS. You can copyright graphics, and you can copyright the overall look of a website – but not the code itself. Simply because you could never prove in a court of law that they actually copied you.

# December 7, 2011 at 3:58 am

I’m going to go out on a limb here and say you can technically also copy someones site via CSS and HTML however, their images and whatever programming languages they use are off limits. The person(s) whose site has been copied can claim trade dress. It is also highly, highly frowned upon in this industry. It will ultimately ruin you.

# December 7, 2011 at 1:03 pm

o·pen-source  [oh-puhn-sawrs, -sohrs] Show IPA – adjective