Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Print designer need some help choosing CMS etc.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Doraemon

Hi guys, some really basic questions coming up!

I am a print designer that would like to start making websites as a freelancer.
    I have some experience doing projects for the web in the past, but just as a designer. I do know html and css quite well and a bit of jQuery.

But from here, my question is what do I need to learn, and invest time in to, to start making websites on my own? The backend stuff is something I know little about, and if someone asked me to make a search bar I designed function well, or a form, I could not. So thats why Im here ^^

I have read up on WordPress a little because of its popularity. But do I need to learn PHP to use wordpress effectevly? Since I am a designer first, that scares me a bit and I do not aspire to become a full fledged developer or dig to deep into programming. Or would another CMS be a better choice for me?

I hope I can get a nudge in the right direction from you pros so I know what to focus on to start making websites on my own as soon as possible.

Thank you

Watson90

Hi @Doraemon

I too have recently started using wordpress, and have successfully created two websites and got them up and running rather quickly.

The sites are http://stevenwatson.co.uk and also http://shaunjeffersphotography.com.

You’re right – it is very daunting when you don’t have a clue about wordpress and how it works but it’s actually not that bad, I would recommend watching these few videos from a guy on YouTube.