Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript Newbie seeking CSS / HTML5 help with image multi-select.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    TC
    Participant

Hi everyone and thank you for your time in advance :)

I am new to web development and I’m learning HTML5, CSS and php.

I’m trying to learn how to do a multi select for an image gallery so the user can select multiple images which get highlighted then click a button to perform some action on the selected images.

Is this possible to do using only HTML5, CSS and php?

I have found a jQuery example on the internet but it’s beyond my understanding right now so I don’t know how to use it and I’m afraid of the dependency of the author’s jQuery. Who knows if one day it will disappear and break my gallery?

Here is the free jQuery image select which does what I’m trying to but without being reliant on someone else’s code which I have no control over. The source code is offered for free but under MIT license which I don’t fully understand.

I don’t need the text part of the image selecting, just multiple image selecting ability and then the ability to click a button to stuff to those selections.

Scroll down where it allows you to select multiple kitties and it highlights them.
    It says”
    Selects Multiple
    Image Picker works great on select multiple elements too.

http://www.jqueryrain.com/?gyktobVV

TC
    Participant

Wow, thank you so much for your answer!

I will purchase a book on javascript today. I already have one in mind.

Also, may I ask you:

Do I really need javascript for this?

Couldn’t I use HTML 5 websockets?

From what I’ve seen they can update realtime.
    Maybe the CSS used to highlight the image cannot update realtime and that requires javascript?

Thank you.

TC
    Participant

Hi.

I just took a quick peek, I think you’re correct.