Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript Need advice on a pressing project please :)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Hello,

I’ve been tasked at my job to come up with an ad bar that floats on a page and when the user comes to the page and clicks this bar a full page ad animates over the existing page. I have little to no experience with this sort of project. i’m more of a designer at work but I’m being pushed into a programming role now as well.

Can someone give me an idea of how might be the best way to go about this task? i was thinking javascript and action script.

if someone could point me to a file for sale or even a tutorial on part of this process it would be much appreciated. I know the project as a whole is kind of a monster.

Ok, so I’ve looked around and the easiest way I see to do this might be jquery.
    Anyone have any input? I would really appreciate it.

TeMc

Depending on how "over" "over the existing page" is. You might wanna use a lightbox technique.

A very lightweight and crap-less lightbox (is: a module dialog that opens over the page, darkening (or even blurring) the exising page below it) … is shadowbox.

Read more at: http://www.shadowbox-js.com/
    -> on download you can choose what you want.

ie. if you just wanna use it for an image, and already use jQuery then:
    > build
    > custom build (adapter: jQuery; player: img; lang: english; untick Shizle.js)
    > zip
    And you’ve got a small pack just for that what you need.

If you need any further help implementing it, check usage-page and then ask here.

TeMc

Thanks for the reply. Check out this link this is the look that I need to go for:
    http://www.javascriptkit.com/script/scr … anel.shtml
    The tabbed drop down.