Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript nav bar changing position?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Doodayer
    Participant

so in a basic rundown of what i want to happen, the nav bar should always be fixed at the top of the screen, which i’ve effectively done. but when i’m at the top of the home webpage, i would like for my logo to go above my nav bar and for the nav bar to stay securely below it. once i scroll down, the nav bar can move back up to its position and the top of its screen and stay there. I honestly have no clue how to do this, and wouldn’t begin to know how to summarize that in three key words for a google search.
    http://codepen.io/Doodayer/pen/KwKxqg

if theres a more efficient way of using the image as a link, feel free to inform me. I’m fairly new to this, as in maybe 3 hours of total writing experience. thanks for all the help.

deeve007
    Participant

Use Jquery.
    Default has navbar positioned relatively so it sits below the logo.
    Then when y position of nav bar reaches “0” use Jquery to change its position to “fixed” at the top of the screen.
    Then when bottom y position of the logo is >0, revert the position of the navbar back to default.

Doodayer
    Participant

Ok i don’t have much experience with jquery, so heres what i have so far:

/*jquery navbar*/
    var x = $(".nav").position().top;

if (x = 0) {
        $(".nav").css("position", "fixed");
    }else{
        $(".nav").css("position", "relative");
    };

I’m not sure if those are the methods i should use, or how to properly find the y position of the nav bar, but thats what i’ve got.

also a weird bug i’m getting is the nav bar doesn’t have the full width, even though its set to 100%.

Paulie_D
    deeve007
    Participant