Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Merchant Account, Gateway and Shopping Cart

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    marylouj

Please forgive my long tale of woe below…

I’m a web design newbie and new to eCommerce. I am working on a site for a small start-up that wants to sell < 100 products online (need a few attributes like size, color, etc.) and wants to be able to update content and dynamically add categories and products.

Cost is an issue for them. They are in a shared hosted environment on GoDaddy and unfortunately tied into a five year contract.

First, i selected Magento as my solution of choice. However, it had terrible performance problems on GoDaddy (12-15 sec response time just w/ the demo system) and GoDaddy would not help with tuning but recommended an upgrade to a dedicated server solution. This was not viable and too costly for the client.

Then, I decided to go w/ ZenCart – GoDaddy seems to promote this and it seems to do what my client needs.

I had just armed myself with numerous Zen books ;) when I learned that my client processes their credit card payments through Costco. The client made a call to Costco and was informed that they had to use a payment gateway called "Virtual Merchant" and that this gateway only supported certain shopping carts.

Sigh. ZenCart is not on the list.

https://www.myvirtualmerchant.com/VirtualMerchant/compatiblecart.do

Just for fun, I ran through the entire list to see if any of the product sites validated W3C and who was using tables versus CSS. Of the 20+ vendors, only two validated – one as strict, one as transitional.