Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript List + google maps = headache

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    kevsyers
    Participant

Hey guys,

This is my first post to CSS-Tricks so I hope I provide you guys with all of the info I need to.

Here’s my issue:

I have several markers on a google map. I have a list that corresponds to those markers. Could someone please point me in the right direction as to how to get the list items to link to the markers in the map.

e.g.
    Click on ‘GK Cafe’ in the list and the map goes to the marker.

I have attached an html file to show you what I have so far.

I’m not necessarily asking for someone to do this for me, just for a bit of help. Also this is my very first attempt at Javascript so please bear with me.

Thank in advance

kevsyers
    Participant

surprisingly that doesn’t help me

apostrophe
    Participant

I knew I had seen something like this before. It’s just taken me all day to remember where! :D

This is exactly what you need (check the demo) http://marcgrabanski.com/article/jquery-google-maps-tutorial-basics

kevsyers
    Participant

Thanks for the link.

I’ve done that tutorial before and found it useful. However I’m not certain how they are getting the objects in the list to match the markers. I’m assuming it has something to do with this code:

Code:
    $(“

• “)
    .html(“Point “+i)
    .click(function(){
    map.panTo(marker.getLatLng());
    })

.appendTo(“#list”);

Again, I’m new to javascript so the solution might be staring right at me.

Thanks again

apostrophe
Participant

I’m no Javascript ninja but if you read through that tutorial again you will notice that he has an empty list in the html

Code:

and calls the list items dynamically with jQuery in that bit of code you posted

Code:
    $(“

• “)
    .html(“Point “+i)
    .click(function(){
    map.panTo(marker.getLatLng());