Grow your CSS skills. Land your dream job.

Italicized fallback

• jmc
    # November 26, 2012 at 7:27 am

In my current project, I am working with an imported serif font that inherently has an italic skew to it. I would like to set the fallback font to georgia, but I would like to apply the italic version of Georgia as the fallback, rather than it’s normal display.

Is there any way I can apply Italics to just one of my fallbacks? or is there a way I can call upon the italic display of Georgia within the css?

(I wish I could be as helpful on the forums as most of you seem to be, but I am still pretty new to all this!)

# November 26, 2012 at 8:04 am

What is the font that you are using that is italic?

jmc
    # November 26, 2012 at 8:40 am

I am using a font from lost type called [pigeon](http://www.losttype.com/font/?name=pigeon “”). The font itself, to me at least, looks to be inherently italicized. needless to say, it does bear a similarity to italic Georgia, hence why I would like to set that as the fall back.

# November 26, 2012 at 9:38 am

I can’t see any way of doing this (other than using a Georgia Italic font).

I suppose it **might** be possible to do something with JS though.

# November 26, 2012 at 9:49 am

I can see what you mean. The only way of doing it that I can think of is using Modernizr. This then detects what browsers do (and don’t) support. If it doesn’t support @font-face, it applies a class of no-fontface to the html tag. You then target that like so:

html.no-fontface { font-family: Georgia; font-style: italic; }

The thing is, pretty much all browsers (except really ancient ones) support @font-face, even IE6 supports it as far as I am aware (I have no way of testing).

I [KNOW](http://caniuse.com/#search=font%20face “”) that IE7, 8, 9 and 10 support it. Gecko, Opera and Webkit browsers do too.

# November 26, 2012 at 10:01 am

Yeah…but that’s not the issue..or is it?