Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Design Is the UX acceptable? Any critique would help!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Hi all

This is my first post on the forum! Here we go…

Please take a look at http://beta.koopkarre.co.za and feel free to comment on any of the styling and user experiences. This site needs to work for a market of people that must be considered as technically inefficient :)

Thank you in advance to anyone that is willing to take a look.

Cherio

Hi Atelierbram

Thank you very much for your response. I am a complete rookie when it comes to design and the subtle changes you suggest really goes far. Is it possible for me to copy and paste what you did?

Thanks again.

chrisburton
    Participant

Using letter-spacing and shadows on body text…what the?

@Atelierbram I managed to get it pretty close to what you suggested. Thanks again for your effort. Can I reach you anywhere for freelance work?

chrisburton
    Participant

I take it that you are a man of principles

It’s not about principles but simple logic (see below).

Since the kerning of most fonts is based on dark on white text, then why not use some letter-spacing on ui-elements, for reasons I explained?

You’re not talking about kerning but rather tracking on body text. Roboto itself is not a great UI typeface in general and using your methods (letter-spacing, word-spacing, shadow) proves that. It is essentially trying to cover up a problem rather than finding an adequate solution.

Perhaps the solution would be to find a more suitable typeface.

@chrisburton Which typeface would you suggest?

chrisburton
    Participant

Source Sans, Open Sans, Benton Sans or practically anything from the Webtype RE series.

chrisburton
    Participant

the tracking of most fonts is based on dark on white text

Please elaborate.