Grow your CSS skills. Land your dream job.

iPhone App Development

• # September 15, 2010 at 6:44 pm

I would love to get into App Development, but at heart I’m just not a programmer.

Preferably, I don’t want to go to school and bet a Bachelor in Computer Science. That is time and money that I can’t commit, especially already having a full time web development job. What I would love to do is take a credible online course (there are no local programs in the area to teach me exactly what I need). Does anyone know of such a thing?

Does anyone build apps for the iPhone? How did you start out?

Cheers!

# September 17, 2010 at 1:18 am

I haven’t heard of any online courses.

I wouldn’t really know where to get started, but I would definitely check out mobiletuts if you haven’t yet.

# September 18, 2010 at 4:35 am

I always wanted to get started on this, but haven’t really had the time or patience to learn, even with a background in C++.

However, on iTunes U there are a few courses, like the Stanford University one, that give you an introduction to iPhone development. I had all of the source code for that at one point and can have a dig around for it if you want me to

# September 18, 2010 at 4:38 am

Thanks guys.

I actually subscribed to the Stanford iTunes U stuff. It’s amazing. I’ve started with the intro programming course and will be doing all three of the programming courses they offer. Then, once I feel confident with all three of those, I’ll venture into the iPhone App Dev course.

Huge props to Stanford for doing this. Definitely temporarily calling myself a Stanford student!

# September 19, 2010 at 7:06 am

Hi I dont know if this is of any help but have you tried the book “begining iPhone Development” by Dave Mark and Jeff LaMarche published by apress? It walks you through a lot of different tutorials and has helped me no end I also subscribed to mobiletuts which is a great source of inspiration

# September 19, 2010 at 5:24 pm