Grow your CSS skills. Land your dream job.

Imbalanced line-height

• # June 14, 2013 at 9:06 am

I’ve downloaded a couple of free web fonts from font squirrel recently… Some of my headings appeared to have extra top margins and they increased with the font size. I realised it was in fact a problem with line height.

Seeing as all these headings are all short / on one line I hadn’t addressed a specific line height as none of the content wrapped.

The more I looked in to this I realised that the font in question actually has about 3 times the space on the top than on the bottom so rather than being (0.5 font size)font size(0.5 font size) for example i have an imbalanced line height of something like (0.75 font size)font size(0.25 font size).

So my question is – can I target line-height top / bottom separately to compensate for this imbalance?

I appreciate the first answer will be “use a better font” but it’s quite specific / individual so if possible I want to keep it.

Thanks

# June 14, 2013 at 10:13 am

@chrisburton for advice but the issue would seem to be a ‘bad’ font.

http://www.brightlemon.com/blog/typography-01-font-basics-what-is-x-height-leading-kerning-tracking-ascender-de-0

For your specific question, I don’t think so…it’s not a css ‘property’ of the font, it’s part of basic glyph.

# June 14, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Some free web fonts have absolutely terrible line-heights and poor rendering.

> So my question is – can I target line-height top / bottom separately to compensate for this imbalance?

Not really. You can use a negative top margin, but that only helps on headers and should really be avoided.

> I appreciate the first answer will be “use a better font” but it’s quite specific / individual so if possible I want to keep it.