Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS image positioning

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    shannoroo

Hi All,

I am just learning CSS and (probably unsurprisingly) am having the most trouble with general layout/positioning.

Right now, I am trying to get an image centered on the page, and then another element to the right of the image, with a bit of space in between (my twitter feed that I imported using the twitter widget).

I have the image and twitter each in a div, and then those two wrapped in a div…and am playing with the {display} property…but I just can’t get it right…..

So my html is basically:

caption text

And my css (well, it’s a bit messed up as I’ve been trying all kinds of things):
    .frontpage {
    width:60%;
    margin:0 auto;
    }

.image3 {
    display: inline-block;
    width:518px;
    height:421px;
    }

#twitter {
    border:outset 7px #E8E3E5;
    display: inline-block;
    width:250px;
    }

Thanks for any help!!

Paulie_D

Here’s the thing.

You can’t centre something in a page by using (margin: 0 auto) AND have something next to it as the item next to it will reduce the amount of margin available.

Basically, you can centre the image in it’s own div as long at there is nothing beside it.

You could fake it by using a few more unsemantic divs and playing with margins/padding/positioning but, personally, I wouldn’t.

shannoroo

Ok….so I am on totally the wrong track using margins, what about using {position}?

wolfcry911
    Participant

shannoroo, more information is needed. What happens when the image is greater than 60% of the viewport? Do the image widths change or is this just for one specific image? Is the twitter feed just a second column or is to ‘ride’ up close to the image regardless of width?

shannoroo