Grow your CSS skills. Land your dream job.

Illustrator Mockup to PhotoshopMockup tricks?

• rob
    # April 5, 2008 at 4:28 pm

Hello,

(Please be gentle…..newbie but willing to put in the time and learn:-)

Goal: to take a illustrator file and export it into photoshop at certain size.

I am just beginning to work for a small company and the artist sends me mockups in Illustrator files at 1024 x 768 then I create CSS webpage.
    He likes to design to the very edge of the screen. I tried to explain to him that if you design right to the edge of 1024 x 768 art border in Illustrator then scrollbars will show up in browser (correct? – I think most people to say design to 760 x 580? a better starting point). I know Illustrator is resolution independent , but if I scale the work to 760 x 580 then everything is to small when I export to photoshop…..maybe I am doing something wrong?

Am I correct that the artist (under my direction), design in a art board 760 x 580 to get 760 x580 photoshop at 72 px….sounds reasonable or is there a trick?

I hope this makes sense to someone out there :-
    Just looking for best way to go from Illustrator to photoshop.
    Thank you in advanced…..I love CSS-Tricks web site….this is the best new resource I have run across….long live CSS-Tricks

We all learn by sharing what we know,
    Robert

# April 7, 2008 at 7:29 am

Hi rob,
    Looks like the problem is your trying to squash something that should be 1024×768 into a hole that’s only 760×580.