Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript If statment in slider function to loop to start?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    porgeet
    Participant

Hey guys and girls

I’m new to web development and I’m currently going through the interactive website tutorial on codecademy.

I’ve got this chunk of code – it works – but I’m not sure why. It’s for an image slider, the if statement’s position in the block of code if puzzling me.

var main = function() {
        $('.dropdown-toggle').click(function(){
            $('.dropdown-menu').toggle();
        });
        $('.arrow-next').click(function(){
            if(nextSlide.length == 0) {
      nextSlide = $('.slide').first();
      nextDot = $('.dot').first();
    }
            var currentSlide = $('.active-slide');
            var nextSlide = currentSlide.next();

`currentDot = $('.active-dot');
        nextDot = currentDot.next();
        currentDot.removeClass('active-dot');
        nextDot.addClass('active-dot');
        currentSlide.fadeOut(600).removeClass('active-slide');
        nextSlide.fadeIn(600).addClass('active-slide');
    });

};

$(document).ready(main);

If I define the if statement after I declare the nextSlide and nextDot variables it doesn’t work. Can anyone help me clarify why it wouldn’t? Just so I know how JS works in a bit more detail.

Thanks a lot
    porgeet

EDIT

It appears there may be a bug in codecademy that causes you to have to juggle code around to proceed to the next lesson as the above JS now doesn’t work.

I thought it shouldn’t as those variables in the if statement haven’t been defined yet. I take it JS reads top to bottom?

ANOTHER EDIT