Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS IE8 compatibility mode conditional statements

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    VirtualTom

Hi, this is my first post for what it’s worth. I did a couple searches and nothing came up for my issue. I am a web developer and I understand CSS very well.

Previously I’ve found that using conditional statements to target (explorer versions) is a simple way to solve issues. I add the conditional statement and create a style sheet for IE6 or IE7, throw in a few altered rules, and everything works fine.

Well I recently was mislead into upgrading to IE8 because I was told the compatibility feature would mimic IE7. Unfortunately, it appears that compatability mode does not read the sheet that is targeting IE7.

So my specific question is: there a way to get IE8 compatibility mode to actually read a style sheet targeting IE7. Whether it is a matter of the phrasing of the conditional statement or what. Hopefully this is clear in what I am seeking.

Thanks for any help,

Tom C

(edited to spell compatibility correctly lol)

vincent

<!–[if gte IE 7]>
    if greater than or equal to IE7 (IE 7, 8, 9, etc.)
    <![endif]–>

VirtualTom

Hey, thanks for the reply.

The thing is what if I also want to target IE8 separately also…if I use gte IE7 for one sheet and gte IE8 for another sheet…which one will IE8 use in compatability mode?

The crux of the problem is what is IE8 doing in compatability mode. If it was saying "hello web page, I am acting like I am IE7 now" there would be no problem; but it appears it is really saying "hello, I am IE8 but I am going to render things like IE7 would". Those are two completely different things. I’ve spent some time searching microsofts developer site and they go into great detail dealing with everything but I cannot find anything explaining this.

Tom C

vincent