Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End IE-Stylesheet Conditional Comment in PHP document

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    cc99

I am a newbie web designer so please excuse me if this is a silly question.

I am working on a site which has a standard css style sheet as well as another one for IE. The IE comes into play through a conditional statement in the header of each page:

<link href="styles/xyz.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
    <!–[if IE 7]>
    <link href="styles/ie7_xyz.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
    <![endif]–>

However, my Contact Us page contains an email form which interacts with a PHP document to send the email and show a ‘Thank for your message’ page. However, the PHP document only seems to recognise the standard stylesheet and ignores the <!–[if…..]> comments, so when viewed in IE the page is all over the place.

As I don’t know anything about PHP (I got the code for the email form and response file from my tutor but the course is finished now so I can’t ask), I don’t know what I need to do to get the condisional comment recognised.

All help is hugely appreciated!

BaylorRae

You shouldn’t use PHP to add the links to your style sheets. Your <head> should just have this.

Code:

Page Title

Perhaps I don’t fully understand your question, but this isn’t a problem with PHP.

cc99