Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS I made a website that shows you a random classic movie, and I need some advice for a better layout.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Spedax

Hi,

So I made a website that shows you a random classic movie. But I’m a developer, not a designer, so the layout isen’t what it should be.

So I want your opinion on some things.

url: http://www.aclassicmovie.com

Some people said they feel the website is to busy, specially with the background change, what do you think ?

Some people also said the video is to small, and the filtering takes up to much space, how do you guys feel about it ?

Any other suggestions are more then welcome!

Spedax

Atelierbram
    Participant

Looks already quite good to me. But since you probably want people to focus on the content ( = video ), why not tone down the background-opacity a bit, except for the header. ( And have the cool tiling background pattern also there (: really should have a header element though ). Have some air between the video and the filtering (on larger screens).

header {
    background: url(“../img/pattern.png”);
    height: 140px;
    }

#bg_grid {
    position: fixed;
    top: 140px;
    left: 0;
    height: 100%;
    width: 100%;
    background: rgba(0, 0, 0, .75) url(“../img/pattern.png”);
    z-index: 1;
    overflow-y: hidden;
    }

.tweaking {
    float: right;
    }

virneto

It already seems great to me!!
    But I’m just a beginner;)
    Couldn’t do better!!

ooredroxoo

You could change the controls color to match the film, as you make the background change, I do believe that you have a database with the description, movie URL, background image and the other data (year, genre, etc), you will need add a field for a color value (hex, rgb, rgba you decide), and with the insertion of the movie data insert the color.