Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other I am thinking of starting a blog …

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    akurtula
    Participant

Hi

I am at a point where I finished university and find it a bit hard to find a job. As all of you I love web design and keep on working on it, learning new things every day. I am not a pro at web design and development and I think there must be a lot of things that I don’t know that might be considered the basics.

I been thinking that I might be a good idea to start blogging. It would be contain ‘web tutorials for TOTAL beginners’. the ‘secret’ reason I want to do this is because I want to learn new techniques and use the blog as a journal.

I want to ask,
    A: Do you think it is a good idea for me (maybe of an overall intermediate level of understanding) to start a tutorial based blog?

B: I would be using wordpress for this, would it be ok if I just find a free wordpress theme, instead of creating my own. I can and I have created wordpress themes but somehow the free blog themes I found seems to have the typography better designed as it is easier to read.

C: I have a domain name in my name aurelkurtula.co.uk, should I try and come up with a new name or can I use my name and the existing domain?

Thanks

Thadley
    Participant

I don’t see why it would be such a bad idea! I also recently just graduated and am basically in the same boat as you, so your not alone :)

I think that making a blog will somewhat make you focus more on learning new things and then writing about them in your blog for other people to read. Not only that but it can also help to keep you up to date on stuff.