Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS how to get non-rectangular images side-by-side?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    TGA

[attachment=0]Design idea.jpg[/attachment]

(sorry for the scrolling frames … can’t make it smaller)

I am a beginner and would welcome any tips to get me started correctly.
    I attached a drawing done in paint to show what I am trying to create. My main problem is that I was taught to use <div> containers in Dreamweaver, which are always tidy little rectangles with images in them. Obviously, the design does not break down into rectangles. So how can I lay it out?
    (I want to use div containers and not tables.)

— Would it work if I had two divs only: One for the header and one for the rest of it? My thought was for the second huge div, I could break up the image into sections in Fireworks and drag them into the div side by side. Would they stick in place correctly? If so, would there be a way to make only the center image in the div scroll?
    — Or should I go to fireworks and create separate images out of the part under the header, and then make each a div? If so, how do I get around the fact that they are not rectangular, but the div containers are rectangles? And how would I float them so it all lines up correctly?

Any advice is welcome. Thanks!

EamonnMac

Everything in a web page is a rectangle – even if the image itself is not.

If I understand you correctly, you want a header div on top, with a ‘main content’ div stacked underneath. Within this ‘main content’ div, you want to display a non-linear (i.e. curvy) frame image as your background, with a scrolling area placed inside that. This should be no problem – just place an iframe where you want the scrolling content to go. Your code will look something like this (obviously replacing all the numerical etc. values with whatever suits…):

Code:
    #header {