Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other How many people in here run Linux?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 43 total)
  • Author
    nixnerd
    Participant

If so, what distro?

I’m really not partial, I’m just curious.

I run Fedora 18, ran Ubuntu for about 3 years.

__
    Participant

Ubuntu at home; plus I manage a server running CentOS.

I converted after re-installing WinXP started to be a bi-monthly “thing.”

__
    Participant

mainly so I actually have a Windows somewhere, if I need it.

that’s what my wife’s netbook is for : )

CrocoDillon
    Participant

I had a little home server running Ubuntu (Hardy Heron as well) as webserver, cs1.6 server and media/torrent server (and because I needed it for some study related exercises), but I never hooked it up again after moving. I should hook it up someday again, for fun :)

Rohithzr
    Participant

Well I am not a professional like others but I have running Backtrack for over a year now and started using Ubuntu a couple of month ago.

nixnerd
    Participant

Wow, mostly Ubuntu huh? Nice.

I’m guessing the only reason anyone keeps Windows is for Adobe Creative Suite. Am I right?

Alen
    Participant

Linux Mint 14 “Nadia” here.

__
    Participant

I’m guessing the only reason anyone keeps Windows is for Adobe Creative Suite. Am I right?
    @Joe_Temp

Nope; all I need it for is IE testing. I still have Corel, but for graphics I mostly use Inkscape + GIMP nowadays. To be fair, while I *do* graphic design work, I’m more of a programmer overall.

Linux Mint 14 “Nadia” here.
    @AlenAbdula

I’m thinking Mint will be the next distro I try. You like it?

Alen
    Participant

@traq, before I settled on Mint, I used to continuously install/uninstall different distributions of Linux. Now, I can actually focus on doing some work :)

I’ve used it since it came out. Not one issue yet. (I hope I don’t jinx myself)

Alen