Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End Homepage that changes headline copy and background image on Reload/Refresh. CODE ADDED, HELP!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    bparks

Is it possible with either Jquery or PHP to create a homepage with a changing background image and tagline/copy on reload.

I’m using a full image background on a client website and I have specific headlines and copy that go with each background image. My plan was to used 4-6 images and taglines/copy.

I don’t want to make the text part of the background image because that will do me no favors with the search engines.

I know how to code it to change the background image on reload or the copy but not both at the same time. And I’ve had little luck finding a solution that satisfies both of these requirements.

I’m really a designer and not a programmer, so go easy on me, But if anyone knows of a solution, I’d appreciate it. Thanks.

bparks

Someone helped me out with this code but I still can’t seem to get the headings and paragraph to change with the background. Help.

Before my HTML:

// Generate a random number.
    $random = rand(0, 2);

// Set up messages, and fetch a random one.
    $messages = array(
    array("heading" => "foo", "body" => "123"),
    array("heading" => "bar", "body" => "456"),
    array("heading" => "bad", "body" => "789")
    );
    $message = $messages[$random];

?>

Then In my HTML

Then in the CSS for the changing background images or colors

body.background-0 { background: red; }
    body.background-1 { background: green; }
    body.background-2 { background: blue; }
    Mellowfellon

Can you use straight JQ for this or does if have to be php ?

You have various options like random images with jquery titles pulled from the ‘title’ or ‘alt’ attributes..