Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS help with setting up navigation bar

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    davidliu

Dear CSSers,

I am a newbie to CSS and am feeling my way to getting acquainted with it. I’ve been exercising to set up a navigation bar but couldn’t work around it.

Below are screenshot image of the website:
    [attachment=1]navigation_problem01.gif[/attachment]
    [attachment=0]navigation_problem02.gif[/attachment]

This is the link http://www.daveatwork.com/navigation_problem.html

I use tables to set up the navigation bar, however I can’t figure out how to achieve the desired result.

Please advice on:
    1. How in the world do I create this navigation bar? Do I need to create image for the ‘current’ URL? Do I even have to use tables?
    2. How do I make the width stretch to fit the links in relation with the container? *OK this is weird because I specify exact width of 473px, but it appears to stretch (which I want). Something I’m not getting?*
    3. I use padding-top to align email link to the bottom of navigation table, is this an acceptable method?
    *Optional 4. How do I create the drop shadow effect? It’s not neccessary but it would be nice if that’s possible.

Not sure if those are the right questions to ask, thank you for your participation and help.

AshtonSanders
    Participant
    "davidliu" wrote:
    1. How in the world do I create this navigation bar? Do I need to create image for the ‘current’ URL? Do I even have to use tables?
    2. How do I make the width stretch to fit the links in relation with the container? *OK this is weird because I specify exact width of 473px, but it appears to stretch (which I want). Something I’m not getting?*
    3. I use padding-top to align email link to the bottom of navigation table, is this an acceptable method?