Grow your CSS skills. Land your dream job.

Finally broken… Im going to buy Apple and need some help

• # November 9, 2012 at 1:51 pm

Im a .net developer by trade so doing a complete switch to Apple isnt possible at this time. But i love the web, love web building, and everything web (i do plan on incorporating web development into my career). I dont want to spend an outlandish amount of money on anything right now but buying a new iPad wont kill me.

Should i purchase an iPad? I figure a shload of people on earth have iPads, and now i can finally test for iPads. But would i be able to code on an iPad (i will buy a friggin keyboard to go with it).

or…/

Should i find a super cheap macbook to test and code on? But i will literally only be using it for website development, testing fonts, styles, sizes, etc..

I guess in conclusion, should i just get an iPad or spend a few extra bucks on a Mac laptop.

I did find this for the iPad: Diet Coda

# November 9, 2012 at 1:59 pm

better off with a mac laptop, more tools and you can get vmware, parallels, or bootcamp Windows 7 or whatever you are using

# November 9, 2012 at 2:05 pm

What about a Mac Mini? An iPad doesn’t seem to be ideal for coding.

# November 9, 2012 at 2:10 pm

Having quite a few Apple devices (including a couple of iPads) – I’d definitely recommend stretching the budget to at least a MacBook Air.

The iPad does have a couple of coding programs, Koder & Gusto but neither really offer lots in terms of power or toolsets.

Your best bet would really be to grab a MacBook or cheap iMac then you can use all the latest stuff like CodeKit, Sublime Text 2, Git Tower etc etc. Plainly, the iPad is simply not equipped to assist with building projects.