Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Does anybody else question the w3c?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Matt

Lately I’ve been having a LOT of issues in designing. I’ve nearly punched a whole in the wall trying to fix a layout that won’t butt-up against the side of the browser window (and I still don’t know; can’t wait ’till WebKit displaces you Firefox!). This is all thanks to CSS feeling… well, backwards.

But, it makes me wonder sometimes on just what-the-hell the committee was thinking when they came up with some of their standards. It still seems, at least to me, that they’re still living in the old days and not willing to overhaul the system for something much smoother and better. I am a C programmer by day and a web developer hobbyist by night. I can understand why I need to initialize my pointers, but I still don’t know why I need to do css resets. I have to applaud IE6 on how they didn’t follow the clear: standard, and I do remember how happy I was that it had no idea what clear meant. I’ve never come up to a case where clear was something that became a tool. It seems more now like an afterthought to clean-up bad write-ups from the Consortium Committee.

EDIT
    I fixed it, but I’m not sure how. I placed the image into the body, and BAM, fixed. Though, this is what I gripe about. I fixed the issue, but I’m not *sure* of what I did.

TheDoc

Well, about clearing floats. This is actually a very important function in CSS. It simply sounds like you just don’t understand what it’s actually doing. I’d recommend trying to find some tutorials on the subject, I think Chris had a pretty good one actually.

Having said that, the W3C is just a guideline in my opinion.