Grow your CSS skills. Land your dream job.

Do I really, really need to move to SASS?

• # December 19, 2012 at 9:40 am

I follow this, and similar sites regularly and I’ve learned so much from them that I feel I need to pay Chris. :-) However one area where I’m still not clicking is SASS/LESS and the like. These, days in Chris’ posts it seems to be a given that you are using it. However I’m wondering if it’s really something I need.

I am a full time professional web designer but 98% of my work consists of sites with less than 20 PHP/HTML pages. I’ve worked on large/team projects but they are rare for me. Also (don’t hate) I primarily use Dreamweaver for all my design. I hand scrub the code, add proper comments and make sure the end result comes out W3C compliant…but I just don’t get the need for SASS. What am I really missing here?

I’ve seen Chris posts and the many comments on the virtues of it but I’ve yet to be sold on how this will really save me any discernible time. I have a starting template I use so that within 10 minutes the bare framework of most of my sites are built (including the CSS and using prefixfree).

I’m not trying to be stubborn here, I’ve just yet to be convinced that moving to something like SASS is going to “rock my world” on these sub-20-page sites.

Any thoughts would be appreciated…and hopefully something beyond “SASS ROCKS!”

# December 19, 2012 at 9:44 am

In a word, no. (JMHO)
    I would try to persuade you away from Dreamweaver, however ;)

# December 19, 2012 at 9:54 am

My personal favorite feature of SASS/Compass is the nesting..for example, styling anchor tags

a {
    text-decoration: none;
    color: blue;
    &:hover, &:focus {
    text-decoration: underline;
    color: green;
    }
    }

same thing with nesting media queries..

.container {
    .content {

}
    aside {

}
    @media screen and ( min-width: 500px ) {
    .content {

}
    aside {

}
    }
    }

# December 19, 2012 at 10:17 am