Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Div Layer Help

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    tizbo1423

Hi, I’m very new to CSS and fairly new to Dreamweaver. Let me explain the site so it all makes sense. I made one big table and then split it into the number of columns and rows I needed to separate my page up and sized them accordingly. There is a top bar for a logo, a side column going down the side for navigation and an area for main content. I put images in each of the spaces within the table to build the look of my page, for example, I put an image of a gray to white gradient for the side navigation column. I then put a DIV Layer over that side column and put my rollover navigation buttons in the DIV so that it would layer over the gradient background. I also have the entire webpage centered in the browser.

Here’s my problem: I can’t align my navigation DIV layer onto the page. If i put in a H and W position, it does not move when the browser size changes and the website moves within the browser. It just stays in its designated pixel position. How do I have it so the DIV Layer navigation attaches itself to the main table/webpage?

I hope that makes sense.

Thanks in advance!

tizbo1423
    "chriscoyier" wrote:
    This is a little complicated to picture with out a link or screen captures. Problem #1 though, what’s with the table? Is there any particular reason why you need a table for your layout?

well, i was told to center my site, to have it all within one table and then just align center the table. so, i did. i don’t even know how else I would build it without a table for a base. sorry, i’m really, really new at this. (so new, i can’t figure out how to the screen captures i took into this message :-/ )

gheidorn

Purists and semanticists avert thy eyes…the following is in the spirit of JFDI!