Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Displaying images from a MySQL Database?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    kipperc

Recently one of my clients asked me to make a modification to their store locator page so that when a location is selected from a drop down menu, an image of the location is displayed on the page as opposed to the generic address info that is currently displayed.

Here is the page so you can see what I’m working with. http://www.cowgirlsespresso.com/locator.php

I don’t have very much experience with MySQL and I’m still learning my way around PHP so the more detailed help i can get the better.

Thanks.

TheDoc

I’m assuming the address is being pulled from the database as well?

kipperc

That’s correct.

TheDoc

Okay, you can store images in the database as well, but that will probably eat up space much quicker than you think (depending on if you start using it for things outside of the Store Locator as well).

What you should do is store all of the images in a folder and then simply reference them in the database by name. I prefer this method as it makes a lot more sense to people that understand folder hierarchy on a server than trying to understand a database.

kipperc

I think that makes sense. Should I just make a new column in the database called "image" and then include URLs to the images in the table rows associated with the locations?

After that, how do I write the php function to reference the image? And where do I include that code?

Do you think you may be able to show me how to do that?

I really appreciate the help.

This is the way to do it.