Grow your CSS skills. Land your dream job.

Custom Post Types in WordPress

• # June 28, 2013 at 4:30 pm

I’m a teacher and amateur web designer. On a school site I’ve been making in WordPress, I’ve created a Custom Post Type called Lessons. How do I get the Lesson pages to be child pages of regular pages?

I want my colleagues to be able to create Lessons and attach them to the right course units, but I want to restrict them from editing regular pages…

Your help would be appreciated! You can see what I’ve done so far at science.standhigh.info

# June 29, 2013 at 7:22 am

I should also mention that I am using the Advanced Custom Fields and Custom Post Type UI plugins (as used by Chris in his mobile site development screencasts in The Lodge)

# June 29, 2013 at 3:11 pm

I asked a similar question a couple of months ago, but it turned out, that nobody could help me with it. Since then I researched on my own. I found out, that, if you are good with PHP (which I’m not), you probably can pull this off. In my case I just couldn’t get it to work, so I gave up and took another approach.

I don’t know if this will help you, but you can create an archive for your custom post type. Just create a new template file and name it **archive-”your-custom-post-type”.php** (without the quotation marks). Oh, and make sure to check *has archive* in Custom Post Type UI. You could sort the lessons with custom taxonomies there.
    Or you could create a custom taxonomy for each topic and have your colleagues tag their posts with the right taxonomies. You could then link to a custom taxonomy archive for each lesson/topic (yes, this will probably be a mountain of work ;-) ).

If that doesn’t help you, here’s the PHP-way (which I couldn’t get to work, but maybe you have more luck/skill): http://www.gravitationalfx.com/how-to-set-a-page-as-the-parent-of-a-wordpress-custom-post-type/

# June 29, 2013 at 3:21 pm