Grow your CSS skills. Land your dream job.

csshover in ie6 (solved)

• # December 11, 2008 at 2:33 am

hey chris i have a question for you are anyone familar with the issue,
    basicly im having an issue with using hover in ie6 (excluding anchor links). after extensive searching, i found and article where chris mentions a fix using csshover.htc, and gives a link to the arthors page.
    after following the link and following the arthor instructions, after a few hours i finally got the fix to work in ie6 (im a newbie). basicly what i did was added the

Code:
    body {behavior: url(csshover.htc);}

to my css and saved the csshover.htc file in my root folder. this is what is kinda working for me now. the reason i was having so much trouble before was because i was insistant on saving the file in my theme folder with the actual css file.

which leads me to my problem. i am using wordpress and it seem that this hack is working in ie6 but only on the home page of my site (rollover is in the header). when i click on any of the pages, then try to click my rollover header, it doesnt work.

any suggestions, anyone.

# December 12, 2008 at 3:46 pm

Is there not any one familar with this issue? I’ve been searching all over and have even contacted the author of the fix.
    Again I’m just trying to get a hover image I’m in my header to work on pages other than my home page, and in ie6. I’m using wordpress.

# December 12, 2008 at 4:18 pm

I’ve had trouble getting csshover.htc to work in the past. Here’s an alternative method I recently used:

First, create an IE6-only stylesheet and link to it in your <head>:

Code:

In that stylesheet, add a selector like this, which contains any non-anchor element that you want to use the hover effect on:

Code:
    li, div.box {
    behavior: expression(
    this.onmouseover = new Function(“this.className += ‘ hover'”),
    this.onmouseout = new Function(“this.className = this.className.replace(‘ hover’,”)”),
    this.style.behavior = null