Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS CSS Question :)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    baumdexterous
    Participant

Hey guys,

I’m new to CSS and I’m trying to code a design that I made.
    See Design Sketch Here

As you you can see, I am trying to create two separate menus on the right side of the design that are positioned within the header.

My HTML is as follows:

I was able to set up the CSS sheet for the top menu successfully (ul#navTopRight), but I am struggling to style the main menu (Menu 1, Menu 2, Menu 3) in the exact position that I want.

.cAlign {
    width: 960px;
    margin: 0 auto;
    }

div#header {
    height: 110px;
    background: #red;
    }

a#logo{
    float: left;
    margin: 30px;
    }

ul#navTopRight {
    float: right;
    margin-top: 0px;
    margin-right: 30px;
    z-index: 100;
    position: relative;
    list-style-type: none;
    }

ul#navTopRight li {
    float: left;
    position: relative;
    }

I will sincerely appreciate someone’s help as I’ve been trying to do this for 3 hours. Thanks so much! God bless.

virtual
    Participant

You need to “clear” the first float. Google for clear floats, there are several methods to do this.

chrisburton
    Participant

In my opinion and many others, I would use the clearfix method as it takes away the extra div.

wolfcry911
    Participant

virtual, you’re correct that he needs to clear the first floating nav. However, there are not several ways to do it. There’s but one – clear: right (or both; which could be considered two ways, but its still just a clear).

You’re confusing the several methods of containing floats with clearing them (with another element) being one way to contain them.

furrball1383

umm here’s what you want to do i believe

http://jsfiddle.net/3pjPS/

just take that and modify it to what you need!

furrball1383