Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS css / php / tables used for header??

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    FordElement

Wouldn’t say I’m a noob (a little long-winded, sure) but I’m running into a bit of a wall with a challenge I’ve decided to put on my plate. I am trying to re-learn what little CSS I once knew (PHP is new to me) and I wanted to do something specific to the header on a site I’m working on:

codenamemama.com – it’s WordPress + the Atahualpa theme.

My idea was to do something very similar to the header on digwp.com – as in a header/logo image on the left, and (the tricky part for me) a separate item on the right with links to the RSS feed and perhaps navigation links.

I want the header image of the cute kid to be in an area on the left 2/3 of the header area, and then create a box w/ an RSS link, etc. in the right 1/3 (or thereabouts)

As I’m still learning, I pulled up the source and style.css to see exactly how digwp.com accomplishes that feat so smoothly.
    I could tell that the site has two separate DIV in the header DIV to separately handle both the Logo/Title element on the left, and the Book element on the right. I totally get that. nice call. it’s simple and does exactly what the authors dreamed up.

Well, I have a sandbox install on my local machine (same setup as the live URL above) and started looking at the html/css regarding how the header is coded (and seeing if I could just create something similar, "split" my header DIV into two "child" DIV, so to speak) and I found several thing that make me pause before proceeding:

1. the style.css for the URL only contains 3 classes regarding image alignment. MUCH less info stated in there than what I expected.
    2. the other 99% of the CSS seems to be in a file called CSS.php
    and, the biggie