Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Cost of responsive design

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Mogwaay

Hi there!

Im a frontend dev at a charity and I’ve been trying to make sure all the work I do is fluid and makes an effort to support different screen sizes. It ain’t gold standard work, but I think it does the job. I also dont find it adds massively to the time I spend on a project. For a recent 10day project, I think I only spent half a day, to a day, dealing with smaller screen sizes.

So I was a bit shocked recently when working with an agency who charged about £1500 for the basic desktop pages then quoted additional responsive work at £4500, taking the total to £6k. This seems ludicrously expensive to me but im interested to hear other peoples views on it.

Does responsive work cost 3-4x more than a basic fixed desktop only? Or does responsive not ‘work’ without doing it to the highest level?

Cheers!

Senff
    Participant

It really depends on what the client requests. If the specs say that the site has too look different on desktop, mobile, tablets, etc. and it’s clearly specified how different it should be, many companies still consider every breakpoint a wholly different site.

Because of that, all the costs go up: extra design, extra development, extra QA, and so on. It’s not uncommon to charge so much more, but I do think this will change in the future when responsive designs will get more “mainstream” and default.

So yea, 4500 does seem ridiculously expensive but it probably has to do with the fact that this company doesn’t really have their responsive skills properly integrated yet.

Mogwaay

Hi Senff,

Thanks for your feedback.