Grow your CSS skills. Land your dream job.

Contact Page Mock-Up

• # February 2, 2013 at 7:06 pm

I have an image mock-up of what I would like to do with my contact page. What do you think the best way would be to achieve this look? I was reading some of the articles on CSS-Tricks, including this one about faking float:center. But I have to say, I do not fully understand it. So, I came to the forums to see if you guys/gals could help me out. Thank you in advance!

Edit: Also, I would like for a little pop-up to appear below the social network buttons telling you the site it is for on rollover and I have no clue how to achieve this with CSS. Thanks again!

# February 2, 2013 at 7:45 pm

For the last part (the tooltips), I usually end using a jQuery solution in combination with anchor tag titles. It saves me on markup and it’s better supported across browsers.

# February 2, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Could you possibly mock-up a CodePen to show me how to do it? I have no experience with jQuery or JavaScript. I actually just gave that same exact response on my other thread that is currently roaming around. I also need to somehow update my jQuery for my website, which I have no idea on how to do.

# February 2, 2013 at 9:38 pm

I like that mockup. Here is how I would do it. Float left two equal with divs. AP the image in place and give it a 10px green border. And give the right float a left border. Here is a css3 tooltip I just made. Best one on the web http://www.visibilityinherit.com/code/pure-css3-animated-tooltip-cross-browser.php

# February 2, 2013 at 9:49 pm

Thank you for such directness with the “tooltip.” I will have to play with it some. I much prefer doing my code strictly with HTML and CSS, but I am currently learning JavaScript, which will then lead into jQuery. Concerning the formatting of my page, when you say:

> Float left two equal with divs. AP the image in place and give it a 10px green border.