Grow your CSS skills. Land your dream job.

Codepal-My First Step in the world of Web Designing

• # January 11, 2009 at 4:29 pm

Hello friends,
    I am a student and am really new to this web development and designing thing. But I am trying to learn as much as I can and thanks to Chris I have learned a lot in the past few days :). Given below is the link to my web site. As I am not very good at designing things :oops: , so I guess my site isn’t that visually appealing like many of the inspirational sites I have seen out here. I have used JQuery [thanks to Chris for introducing it to me :P] to make all the different sections of my web page in one page itself. Hence, it takes a wee bit time to load in the starting, but once its done, I guess the browsing experience of the site is quite fast. I will try to optimize the images further and use the ‘Lazy Load Plug in’ to see if the page load time reduces considerably. One more problem which I am facing is that I have faded the text on my side bar a bit and because of that the text gets distorted for some people though it comes fine when I open the site from my place. Please, do take a look at the site and comment on it. I am sure suggestions and guidance from you guys can help me become a professional like you all.

Thanks in Advance :D

Here is the Link:- http://www.code-pal.com/

I will hopefully be making more web pages with coming time. So instead of creating new posts for every web page I create, I thought of updating the links here itself so that you guys can comment and suggest improvements.. :)

Updates :-
    A Green Abstract Portfolio site. Its there in the services section of my site.

Rob
    # January 11, 2009 at 4:57 pm

for your first time site, your doing good mate :) I like it – although i think some of the jQuery is over the top – assuming you are using "show" why not try "slideDown" – it might look sexyer – just a thought.

Great start though – it dosnt load too slow :)