Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Center Website with Div Tag

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    julesbuiltit

Hi, I am unable to center the container div. I am new to CSS and would appreciate the help.
    Right now the website is shifted to the far lefft in most resolutions.

}
    #apDiv7 {
    position:absolute;
    width:832px;
    height:529px;
    z-index:6;
    left: 93px;
    top: 27px;
    background-image: url(align.jpg);
    overflow: visible;
    visibility: visible;
    }

Chris Coyier
    Keymaster

Create a centering reset. Copy this entire code and paste in the top of your CSS file.

* {margin: 0 auto; padding: 0;}
    TT_Mark

Please don’t create a centering reset…. that is not a good idea!

You want to remove the top, left and position attributes of the container div and set the margin to

margin: 0 auto
    Chris Coyier
    Keymaster

Why is creating a reset a bad idea? Tons of people use them including Chris Coyier and Elliot Jay Stocks.

Edit: Actually, you’re right as it may throw off the rest of his design. However, if he used a reset in the beginning, he most likely wouldn’t have this issue.

jamygolden

@CWDESIGN * {margin: 0 auto; padding: 0;} isn’t a very common reset, * {margin: 0; padding: 0;} is however.

Chris Coyier
    Keymaster

@jamy-za, but it works.

noahgelman
    Participant

A centering reset usually isn’t good.

try to remove he absolute positionning and top and left attribute, then make the margin: 0 auto.That should fix your problem and for IE add this for the body {text-align:center} and the container div add this {text-align:left}.
    Let us know if works for you

TT_Mark

Firstly, a centering reset is a terrible idea when all the original poster wanted was to center one div. It makes no sense to go and center everything when all they asked for was the container to be centered!