Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End Can’t seem to get any jscript to work in WP

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Ok, so I had a previous post that was just a false alarm. The real issue I think it’s boiled down to is that I can’t seem to get WP to execute any jquery or javascript from the header.php to any of my custom pages.

I have an index page setup as a custom page (http://www.citrusbunny.com) it’s the main one you are looking at.

Granted I’m fairly new to jquery, but I’ve successfully got it to work in a normal html page. This is the same issue I was having with the simplemodal contact form – the action doesn’t do anything on the page itself.

I used Chris’ "proper way" to include jscript into a WP template through the header.php, but that doesn’t seem to have helped.

Just an FYI – when I load any plugins that include jquery or anything else, it works just fine. I’d really like the ability to do some custom stuff, too though.

So what I have right now is:

header.php

Code:

… blah blah blah …

in the stylesheet I have #contactslide defined as a 250px x 350px box with a black background just for testing. It’s supposed to slide up or down when you click the link "Contact Slide".

On the custom index page, I have:

Code:

Read the rest of this page »

‘); ?>

Pages: ‘, ‘after’ => ‘

‘, ‘next_or_number’ => ‘number’)); ?>

‘, ‘

‘); ?>

So, I’m not sure what’s causing it to not function. My goal is that if I can figure out why this isn’t working, it will solve why I can’t get any jquery or foreign to WP scripts to work.

Does anyone have an immediate idea what I’m doing wrong?

apostrophe
    Participant

Try changing $ to jQuery in your slide function.

apostrophe
    Participant

So your script says

Code:
    jQuery(“#contactslide”).slideDown();

but nowhere in your markup is there an element with the id of contactslide.